For more years than I care to remember I have bemoaned the lack of clothes in my wardrobe and wished I had a discernible “style”.  All of my friends have one. I can pick up a scarf/yarn/whatever and think “that’s so Alice/Lara/whoever”. Me…not so much.

Considering I can sew whatever I want (obviously within limits as my skills still need some work), this is a pitiful state of affairs.

Considering that I have lots of fabric waiting to be sewn, even more so.

(An aside to my husband at this point…stop rolling your eyes and muttering “I told you so”…it’s not helpful).

So when Colette launched their Wardrobe Architect project recently, my ears pricked up.

waheaderI mentally ticked all the items on Sarai’s list:

You acquire things you don’t use.

You feel regret over purchases, whether it’s fabric you’ll never use or a blouse bought because it was on clearance.

You tend to buy quantity over quality more than you’d like.

You buy things that are “close enough.”

You don’t have a chance to think very deeply about your purchases, like the environmental or ethical impact.

When buying fabric, you go for the bright and shiny instead of the fabrics you really like to wear.

You make clothes that don’t really fit your life well (another party dress?)

You have an overwhelmingly long list of sewing projects you want to make and no idea of how to prioritize them. This can actually be kind of stressful for me.

You feel like your wardrobe is all over the place.

You don’t know how to put outfits together from what you have, so you keep acquiring more instead.

I couldn’t have put it better myself.

So…I’m in! Sarai will be posting weekly thoughts for discussion and a downloadable worksheet that you can complete yourself to help you define your style and, hopefully, end up working towards a cohesive, stylish wardrobe that reflects both your personality and your lifestyle.

I definitely need some of that.  I’ve been completely lost since leaving corporate land (suits I can do!), and it’s time for a change.

I’ve printed off the first two worksheets and will discuss them here probably next week. But in the meantime, what do you think of this project?  Are you completing it too?

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

BTW…I’ve not forgotten that I owe you pictures of Button’s birthday gift.  The weather here is so dreich* at the moment it’s impossible to get a remotely vibrant photograph.  But I will at the first opportunity.

* A word of old Scots origin describing a combination of dull, overcast, drizzly, cold, misty and miserable weather. At least 4 of the above adjectives must apply before the weather is truly dreich.  It has been truly dreich here for the last couple of weeks.

