I’m in the really rather fortunate position of only living about an hour from the legendary Linton Tweeds shop.

image courtesy of lintondirect.co.uk

Don’t hate me!

I have visited once before, when I bought the fabric for my Chanel style dress.

tweed dress

I’m longing to make a classic Chanel style jacket, but am waiting until the CrossFit kicks in and I’m a bit slimmer before putting all that work into a garment.  To be fair I’m not planning much sewing for myself over the coming months.  Only garments that will be easy to alter.

So you can imagine how thrilled I was to open my email inbox this morning to an email from Threads with details of a new book available for pre-order.

cardigan_jacketOh my!

Make this signature jacket for yourself. Coco Chanel’s designs have captivated the imaginations of fashion lovers for generations. Now, with The Couture Cardigan Jacket, home sewers can create their own high-fashion jackets with the impeccable look and fine detailing of the iconic original.

I am so excited by this book…I’ve already pre-ordered it.  It’s available on Amazon.co.uk for £15.19 with free delivery.  A bargain, no?

In The States you can order from Taunton press direct.

It looks like its going to be an amazing resource:

Learn the fine art of couture sewing. With The Couture Cardigan Jacket, you will be able to follow all the steps involved in replicating the characteristics of this signature jacket, including:

  • Cutting and shaping the jacket sections

  • Sewing princess seaming

  • Setting the sleeve

  • Adding the chain weight

  • Creating the double buttonhole

It should be with me early in November.

And who knows, maybe Father Christmas will bring me a voucher for Lintons…

