Oh my…how did that happen.  It seems only two minutes since I was celebrating my 40th with my new man…(he’s now The Husband…nothing untoward going on there!).

Yet, on Saturday, I celebrated my 47th birthday.  And whilst it feels very odd to be looking down the barrel of 50, this was absolutely my best birthday yet.

I started the day weekend with breakfast in bed (home-made bread toasted and a pot of tea) from The Husband and with cards and snuggles from the kids.

This was followed with a long and luxurious bubble bath with more tea and The Archers, and time to blow dry my hair without the usual billionty interruptions from small folk.

At lunch we were joined by the grandparents and whilst lunch cooked I opened gifts.

And what gifts they were.

The companion book to the Craftsy course from Button.

The companion book to the Craftsy course from Button.

Inspiration and education for better photos from Boy.

Inspiration and education for better photos from Boy.

More beautiful knitting patterns from The Husband.

More beautiful knitting patterns from The Husband.

I was soooooooo thrilled with these.  Just what I wanted and enough knitting to keep me occupied till my dotage! 😉

But the minxes that they are, the parents and The Husband had banded together and bought me something I really hadn’t expected (bearing in mind that I took delivery of a new Samsung Galaxy S4 and a spanky new laptop just two weeks ago, both of which I most certainly considered to be birthday gifts.)

Galaxy Tab 2 7.0

Galaxy Tab 2 7.0

Oh. My. Word.  I love, love, love this little gadget.  It fits perfectly in my handbag and is light enough to sit in bed at night watching Craftsy or reading or surfing. I am soooo happy with this.

But if that wasn’t enough spoiling for one day weekend, The Husband made, at my request, pepperoni pizzas for us traditionalists and onion marmalade and feta cheese for the non tomato eaters!IMG_8298_edited-1

IMG_8301_edited-1

And lets not forget the garlic bread!

IMG_8299_edited-1

IMG_8282_edited-2

Daddy makes the best pizza in the world. Ever!

The Husband had also made The Avalanche Cake of Doom.

IMG_8289_edited-1It’s possibly the most unphotogenic cake in the history of cake photography!

This started life as a Red Velvet Cake but things didn’t go quite according to plan! The Husband was understandably miffed that his creation hadn’t worked out….until we bit into the cake!

It was a complete triumph of substance over style, and tasted so wonderful that we didn’t give two hoots for what it looked like!  It didn’t last very long either.

The babies went to Nana and Grandma’s for a sleepover and I got 14 hours of sleep, breakfast in bed again, and a wee bit of retail therapy to round off a perfect weekend.

So thanks go to my darling hubby for organising all of this and for flexing his culinary muscles so successfully.  And to the grandparents for taking the wee beasties off our hands children for a sleepover.  I had a wonderful time!

