Wow…you guys really are the very best.

First up…thank you for all your kind words of advice and encouragement on my last post.  I really do appreciate your opinions and honesty.  But thanks also for not being too honest… 😉

You’ll be glad to hear that the Wishy Washi dress has been consigned to the charity shop bag.  I was very nervous about posting that dress, but sometimes you’ve got to post the losses as well as the wins.

I’ll admit I found it quite tough to see the two pictures next to each other…they really highlight my recent weight gain!  Thankfully that’s levelled out and I should start losing it again over the next few months.  Prior to Christmas I was changing over to some new meds and, boy, did they mess with my “I’ve eaten enough” mechanism.  The kids wouldn’t even sit next to me for a while for fear I’d start chewing on their toes!

My weight is an ongoing battle for me, and will probably always be so. I really have no inclination to make the necessary sacrifices, or to do the gym time, to become a size 10, nor have I any comment to make on anyone else’s choices regarding the weight/size they want to be.  It’s a personal thing and I think as a society we spend far too much time focussing on the slightest fluctuations of celebrity waistlines instead of the real issues we face as a global community. For me, however, the weight I’m at right now doesn’t feel comfortable, so I’ll be working on bringing that down in a slow but healthy way.

However, no matter how hard it was to see and share that picture, it’s been a fantastic fashion learning opportunity.  And has really clarified some things for me, so here’s a ‘brain dump’ for my reference more than anything else:

  • I really, really need to get the black out of my wardrobe.  As an accent, well, that’s ok, but solid black…no!  I’ll keep it only for those occasions where propriety dictates it be worn.
  • Likewise, I’m clearing out the man-made fibres.  I’ll be using the red I bought in London to make a skirt (I’ve been working on the pattern/toile today). And possibly a bit of some navy/red John Kaldor floral that would look lovely with it.  But going forwards I’m planning a lot more cotton in the wardrobe.

Red poly from London

John Kaldor floral

John Kaldor floral

  • Style-wise, I really need to stick with fitted.  I may not have much of a waist, but a fitted silhouette gives the impression of one, and that can only be a good thing.
  • Colour is my friend…that much is clear.  I know blue is good and certain reds.  It’s been a revelation to me that I adore wearing hot pink.  Much as I love nudes and greys on other folk, they are not kind to me.  And I have to be really, really careful with browns, or I look like a 1970’s geography teacher, which in itself isn’t a bad thing, just not a good look on me!
  • That “just on the knee” length of Giverny really is the best length for me. It’s also the length of my denim skirt that, whilst its currently too tight to be worn, is a much worn wardrobe staple that will be back in rotation as soon as possible.
  • I’m second guessing myself a lot at the moment. My confidence in my fabric or pattern choices has taken a bit of a bashing. But my wardrobe is ridiculously bare as the couple of dresses I made last year – Giverny and Cafe Crème  – are too small at the moment. As summer is hopefully almost upon us and I seriously will struggle with finding anything to wear should things warm up around here, I need to put my big girl panties on and get cracking.
  • My recent stash reduction exercises now have me down to a couple of pieces that I’m definitely saving for special occasions, a couple of pieces of jersey, a length of denim, the red from London and the matching red cotton, and the yellow print.
  • I really need to get back in the saddle and score a few wins to bolster my sew-jo and my wardrobe.

Ginger

  • First up will be the red poly from London.  It’s already cut out into a Colette Ginger with a straight waistband. I’m planning to team it with a short sleeved shirt made up from the red cotton that Miss Button turned her nose up at, and possibly a Sorbetto from the John Kaldor floral.
Red cotton

Red cotton

  • I need to get that piece of denim made up into jeans sooner rather than later.  I can always alter them later if needs be.
  • I also need another denim skirt.  I live in these in the summer and my local store has some cute stretch denim that I could rustle up into something lovely in next to no time.

So…after a very shaky start to the sewing year, with plans made and scrapped, stash sorted and busted, and no big wins for my wardrobe, I feel that I’m in a place to make the rest of the year a sewing and knitting success.

I’m awaiting a response to a query I posted today on the Knit to Flatter forum and hope to complete that course in the next two weeks.  This will mean I’ll be in a position to finally cast on the Bud cardigan.

I’m then toying between starting the dress fitting course, and perfecting a pattern for dresses like Giverny, or doing the Kenneth King jeans course and fitting a great pair of jeans.  I’ll see how the mood takes me in a couple of weeks

Until then, I’m going to crack on making a simple red skirt and boosting my sew-jo!

