I know I’m late to the party with this, but I’ve been busy having fun!

the_great_british_sewing_bee__meet_the_contestants

Oh GBSB…how I love thee!  To be fair, I’d probably watch this even if it wasn’t so much fun.  I haven’t shouted at the TV this much since Project Runway was last on our UK screens.

I really want to adopt Ann to be my sewing aunt.

ann

She is marvellous.  Fabulous sewing skills and upside down yoga…what’s not to love.  I was awestruck by her calm and grace during challenges that would have had me weeping in a corner.

I’m not entirely sure why the BEEB has only done 4 programmes.  Have they not cottoned on yet (pun intended) to just how many of us are sewing these days?   And how many people are interested in learning, but just need a little nudge.

I do wonder if they intend to do a “masterclass” at the end as they do with the Bake Off…actually showing people how to insert a zip, etc.

I suspect not!

That said, as I was driving down to Devon last week an email pinged into my inbox from our local BBC radio station asking me to contact them.  When I stopped for loo breaks I carried out a lovely email conversation with them which resulted in me being invited to be a (very small) part of their morning phone-in on Wednesday morning discussing the renaissance of sewing and other traditional crafts such as baking.

bbc_radio_lancashire

It was a huge amount of fun to participate in spreading the word, even if it was in a very small way, about just how brilliant it is to be able to sew, knit, quilt and bake for yourself and your family.

I can remember when I started sewing I was the weird girl.  It delights me that the mainstream is now catching up with what we’ve known for years.  That sewing, knitting, baking and stitching in all its forms are valuable skills that not only provide a creative outlet but support our family budgets, demonstrate our love for the recipients, support small independent shops and designers and put money into the economy.  

Yes, Mr Cameron, I’m talking to you.  

I may be a stay at home mum but I do contribute to the economic success of this country.

Not only do we spend money on fabric, yarn and notions, we invest in tools and equipment…all of which has to be sold to us by someone.  We recycle fabric and yarn that might otherwise end up in landfill.  And when we make a garment for £3, £10 or whatever, it means there is another £20, £30, £50 or more still in the family coffers to be spent in other parts of the economy, supporting other businesses.

So it’s feeling good to be one of the cool kids (at last) and to be recognised as women (and men) with valuable skills.  And I can’t deny it was fun and flattering to be on the radio for my couple of minutes of fame.

