knittoflatterWell, it seems you’re interested in a little review of this course so here I go.  I’ll do it in several parts as I work through it, if that’s ok with you?

Although it probably doesn’t need saying, I will…Craftsy wouldn’t know me if I poked them with a spoon.  These are my thoughts and experiences and no incentive to express them has crossed my path.

So. To recap. After the knitting catastrophe that was the Audrey cardigan, I decided it was time to suck it up and finally learn to fit my knits.  I’m more than competent at constructing different kinds of stitches such as cable and lace, but my fit has always been, how shall we say…very hit and miss. There aren’t that many knit fitting courses out there in the ‘real’ world, so Craftsy seemed like the best place to start.

Craftsy…what the Dickens is that?

craftsy-logoCraftsy is an ‘online learning community’ which:

offers online classes about all of your favorite crafty topics – taught by amazing instructors. Craftsy classes are online, so they are available to you anytime you want for as long as you want – they have no scheduled class times, so you can enjoy them entirely on your own schedule. Each class is taught by an acclaimed instructor and consists of several hours of HD-quality video content

So far so good. They have a wide variety of courses on all sort of topics. Knitting, dressmaking, baking, cake decorating…to name but a few.  Obviously I’m most interested in the dressmaking and knitting, but The Husband has signed up for some of the bread-making courses (still waiting for croissants, darling ;-)), and Ma has signed up for a quilting course.  So the demographic for the Craftsy community is quite diverse.

There’s a pattern shop too.  For example, Steph sells her Cake downloadable patterns through Craftsy.

And, if you’re in the US, there are discounts to be had on fabric and other supplies.

Well, that sounds pretty interesting…but is it any good?

Although I’ve signed up for three different courses, I’ve only worked through the first few lessons of Knit to Flatter so far, but I can only say that I’ve already utilised most of the key benefits that Craftsy highlight…

  • Ask your instructor questions, upload photos, and get personalized responses

  • Participate in discussions with your classmates

  • Access supporting class materials – including patterns and helpful tips & tricks

  • Bookmark your favorite moments in the video so that you can easily re-watch them and take notes that you can refer back to anytime

I’ve also found the platform to be stable, and the video/sound quality to be excellent.  I suspect it helps that we have a bajillion whatsit internet thingy, so if yours is slower, that might affect things.

I also like that as long as I’ve got internet connection, I can access the material.  I can use my laptop or iPhone, or, if he’s not looking, The Husband’s iPad.

Obviously, that’s also a restriction – no internet, no access. You can’t download videos to access offline. But, for me, this isn’t a massive problem. And, in fairness to Craftsy, keeping everything hosted securely, without the opportunity to download, protects their material and allows them to keep their prices competitive.

Hmmmm…I’ll bet its pricey

Full price is usually around the $40 US…but seriously, don’t pay full price. There are regular sales and promotions. Also, when you sign up they give you the opportunity to “earn” points with which you can get a free course. I used my points to purchase Knit to Flatter.

There are also a selection of free courses that you can access if you’d like to try the platform without any risk.

For example, in My Craftsy, I have…

know your wool

block of the month

 short rows

…all of which are free classes.

You’d recommend it then?

I have to say that, so far, and touching wood, my experience of Craftsy has been a positive one.  I find it easy to use, which is helpful, because I’m an idiot with technology.  I like that you can go over and over (and over!) a bit of video if you need to, and can contact the tutor or other students if you’ve got a question.

I’d like it if the questions were answered a little quicker, for sure.  I’m currently awaiting an answer so I can move to the next lesson of Knit to Flatter.  But that’s a minor niggle, and I appreciate that for the instructor this isn’t a full time gig.

And, lets face it, you can try a course, or two, with no obligation to see if this is an platform that works for you.  You’ve nothing to lose except a wee bit of time.  And you could gain a whole lot more.

Which is what I’ll talk about next time…what I’ve learned so far in this course.

