I’ve been a knitter for a very long time.

I can do cables and lace patterns.  I can knit socks and sweaters and cardigans. I’m committed to learning colourwork this year too.

But the thing I’ve always baulked at is mastering the mathematical side of things to fine tune fit.  Which is amazing because I’m not a ‘standard’ shape or size (if such a thing exists), nor am I the B cup that is the standard for most pattern drafting. You’re forgiven for thinking that in this case, the fit would be the first thing I’d mastered.  Not so…I’m a dunce at maths.  Always have been.

The success of knitted garments to date, therefore, has been more a result of good luck than good judgement!

Which leads me to the current epic fail.

Audrey 183Audrey, by Jane Richmond, is a lovely looking cardigan.  It’s knit in the round from the top down in garter stitch, with a seam detail at the shoulders and side of the body.

So far…so simple.

Or not!

This cardigan is my knitting nemesis. It has pushed me over the edge.

Firstly, I’ve ripped it back so many times I’ve lost count.  I had the devil’s own job separating the sleeves from the body.  And because it’s on small needles (it’s 4ply) it’s taken forever to knit. Honestly…I cast this on before Christmas. Probably in November, if memory serves.

Then, at the back of my mind has been the nagging doubt that it wasn’t quite me and it wasn’t quite right.  When I’d separated the sleeves, I tried it on, and was assured by The Husband that it looked ‘fine’ and foolishly only made a cursory check in the small sitting room mirror before getting back to the knitting in a gungho fashion.

Big. Mistake.

This week the nagging voice wouldn’t go away.  So I took it off the needles and up to the full sized mirror and tried it on….

IMG_7204_edited-1Look at the size of that there sleeve!  And that’s being worn over another cardigan!  Eep!  Not good.  Not. good. at. all!

It gets worse, if that’s possible!

IMG_7198_edited-1Look at the armhole…just too big.

I’m not showing you how the rest of the cardigan looks on me.  Suffice to say, the sleeves sets the tone for lack of fit and shape!

So, it’s back to the drawing board with this yarn.

And it’s time for me to put my big girl pants on and conquer the maths.  Not a joyful prospect, I have to admit, as maths is not my strong suit.

To make it all a little easier and a lot more fun I’ve signed up for a Craftsy class by Amy Herzog, who’s life mission seems to be to help numpties like me knit garments that actually fit and are flattering, to boot.

knittoflatterThis is going to be an interesting journey.  Knits that fit…who’d’ve thunk it?

