don't forget

If you find that you need to alter a pattern, say by adding 3 cms of width to a shirt back and yoke to accommodate ridiculously broad shoulders, can I suggest that you remember to also alter any adjoining pattern pieces.  Maybe add 3 cms to the collar stand and collar too.

Otherwise you might find yourself waking at 4am in a cold sweat having realised what you’ve done.  Or not done, as the case may be.

And then spending some time that would be better spent sleeping wondering if you have enough scrap fabric to recut the adjusted collar and collar stand. And if the light sleepers in your house will be disturbed if you sneak up to the sewing loft to find out the answer to your fabric dilemma.  And if you can actually be bothered to get out from underneath the super cosy duvet and quilt to shiver your way up there anyway.

I’m not saying I actually made this mistake, but if I had I’d be awfully glad that I had enough waste fabric to cut new collar and stands, and only need to buy a bit of extra interfacing tomorrow to get myself to the point where I can actually start sewing.

