Dearest reader, I need your help.

I’m really rubbish at science.  So much so that I’m banned from teaching it to the children to prevent some tragic Jekyll and Hyde episode resulting from the contents of our kitchen.

jekyll

But even I know that fabric isn’t like rabbits and doesn’t reproduce at a great rate of knots.

rabbits-cute-group-of-land-13269

image from wallpower.com

Right?

Phew…thanks for clarifying that for me.

But then, I really can’t find any other explanation for the fact that despite having sewn quite a few garments last year, and some of them from my stash, it’s actually considerably larger than this time last year.

Or could it in fact all be down to my super generous friends who have been sorting out their stashes and sending my way anything they think I might like?

Or my lovely husband and his Christmas fabric buying antics?

2 mtrs of Art Gallery Voile - Praline Honey

2 mtrs of Art Gallery Voile – Praline Honey

Possibly even Vicki and Fiona conspiring to add more deliciousness to the mix.

IMG_6927_edited-1

Ooooooh….that would be it.  No scary and potentially hairy science required.

But, I do need to take matters in hand.

And I’m not alone.  Which makes me feel infinitely better about my complete inability to get a grip on this.

So I’m tentatively signing up to Cation Designs 2013 Stashbusting Sewalong.

Stashbusting Sewalong Challenge Button with Text

I can’t promise that new fabric won’t mysteriously make it’s way into the sewing loft this year.

And I’m pretty certain that the odd pattern or Burda magazine will sneak in there too.

But I’ve got lots of ideas for the fabric and patterns that I do have.  And lets face it, they’ll be far better in my wardrobe than up those stairs.

And the place will look less of a tip too.

Which would be rather nice all round.

