I love Fair Isle knits.

300I love the intricacy of the designs.

flooertopI love the sense of tradition and heritage.

sheepheidside1I love intarsia too.

boreal2Frankly, though, I’m crap at knitting either of them!

Can’t get the tension even.  Can’t avoid squooshed up stitches or saggy threads or holey bits.

In April all that will change.

Lara Croft and I have done it and signed up for the Knitting with Colour workshop at baa ram ewe in Leeds.

image courtesy of baa ram ewe

image courtesy of baa ram ewe

We are inappropriately squeaky with excitement at the prospect.  This is something I’ve wanted to crack for more years than I care to remember and LC is just the most fun to spend a day with.

I simply can’t wait.

Squeak!

PS….all the pictures of the divine knits are courtesy of the wonderful 

Kate Davies.

