Lordy, I’m glad to see the back of 2012!  It’s been a busy year and no mistake. We’ve had our fair share of stuff going on behind the scenes that have made this a singularly tiresome year!

However, I still managed to achieve some pretty cool things despite the year’s best attempts to throw me off kilter.

Button started school this year.  Which seems fairly astonishing to me.

IMG_6081_edited-2

What’s even more astonishing is that this cardigan fits her now!

On the topic of school…I finally gained my degree this year.

oulogo-56

BA Hons in Modern Languages anyone?

It is nothing short of miraculous that I finally completed this, and it couldn’t have been done without the patience and support of my wonderful husband, who also took over cooking duties at critical points, the unceasing babysitting services of Ma and Ma SIL, and the rather large boot up the behind from certain wonderful friends when I was seriously considering throwing in the towel last year.

On the creative side of things I had my most productive  year to date.

The tally of things I made is as follows:

  • 8 garments sewn for Button
  • 3 garments knit for Button
  • 4 tops sewn for me
  • 2 cardigans sewn for me
  • 2 sweaters knitted for me
  • 1 pair of jeans sewn for me
  • 2 pairs of trousers sewn for me
  • 2 dresses sewn for me
  • 5 craft items sewn

I know this isn’t as prolific as some of you guys out there, but I’m pretty chuffed with the outcome.  Especially as only a couple of those items were epic fails.

035Oh, what was I thinking???? This just never fitted right and the fabric was so floppy that it ended up shapeless. Not my finest hour but a great learning curve.

IMG_6185_edited-1This one needed a bigger FBA and no mistake!  And something doing with those ridiculous darts.

The major successes of the year have been my dresses and jeans.

PicMonkey Collage

These are worn constantly.  And the Giverny dress always garners a complement. This is so reassuring that I’m finally making clothes that fit my lifestyle now…not my lifestyle 10 years ago.

And so to next year….

Normally at this point I’d add another page to the top of the blog and list all the things I’d like to do during the following year.

This year I’m not doing that.  I’m taking a different tack.  Because I truly have no idea what I want next year to look like, other than I’m hoping it’s going to be a lot slower and quieter than this year! All I know is that I want to focus on family and friends, home and health in 2013…and, of course, sewing, knitting, stitching and cooking!

I do hope you come along for the ride, I’ve so enjoyed your company this last year.  And whatever you’ve got planned for 2013, I hope the New Year brings it to you in spades.

