At 3am this morning I was awoken by The Boy wanting to play.  He’d brought his duvet, quilt, pillow and Blankie and set them up at my side of the bed.  Atop these were a pile of bigger toys…car track, rocket ship, Bob the Builder’s workshop, that kind of thing. At the bottom of the bed was his wheelie crate full of small cars and the like.

Needless to say he was promptly scooted back to bed and about an hour later was back asleep. I wish I could have said the same for me…I was keeping a weather ear open for further incursions.

Hence, today, I am shattered.

It wouldn’t be so bad if this was an irregular occurrence,  but our little man is not the world’s best sleeper and, by default, neither am I until he grows out of this.

So something has to give because it takes me a million times longer to do anything with my eyelids taped to my forehead to keep them open.  And the thing that’s giving at the moment is my creative stuff.

Sigh…little jeans are still in neat cut piles on the sewing table.  I’m going nowhere near a sewing machine when I’m this tired.  Either the fabric or my extremities will suffer for it.

What I have been doing, though, is knitting.  And planning knitting.

I now have two projects on the go.

First up, and already on the needles, is Audrey by Jane Richmond

I’m knitting this in JC Rennie’s Supersoft Lambswool in Pagan

I was more than a little cautious when I purchased this yarn, as I’ve decided to try the greasy yarn on a cone.

Don’t worry, this only means that the lanolin and the processing oil, an absolute requirement during the manufacturing of the yarn, has not been washed out. This is normal practice as it allows the knitter or weaver full control of the finished quality they want for their end product after scouring (washing) and drying.

I needn’t have worried…this is a delight to knit with and has a wonderful slightly sheepy smell to it that I find charming and not the least bit unpleasant.

This is a slow knit, though, and will be a while before it’s finished.

I also have a small, quick project that I’m about to cast on.  I had bought some lovely Debbie Bliss Rialto DK in Deep Purple with a view to knitting a slightly quirky top for Button for Christmas day.  Unfortunately I was substituting yarn and, despite multiple gauge swatches, I couldn’t get it to work at all.  So I changed the pattern to Teresa Cole’s adorable Langston

and this will make a useful little topper for the cooler months.  I think I might like this better than my original plan.  The yarn gods obviously know their stuff!

I’m spending some time on a train at the weekend so I’m really looking forward to getting going with this one.  I think it’s just lovely.

And the kids are sleeping over at grandparents at the weekend so I’m planning to get a very good night’s sleep.  And who knows, I might soon also get back at the pedal of the sewing machine.

But in the meantime, there’s always the knitting!

