Only 14 and a bit days until my final exam.

Yesterday you would have found me in Starbucks doing some work.

Oh yes…that is a key missing from my laptop.
No…I don’t know where it is.
The Boy does… but he’s not telling!

It’s too easy to be distracted at home and I have to prep a 3 minute presentation on 4 different subjects – you don’t know which one you’ll get on the day, although you do know in advance what the topics are so it’s not too horrendous. I’m also need to prep some key questions and phrases to use in the second part of the exam, which is an 8 minute discussion between all participants.

It’s not as bad as it seems.  After two weeks of part time school attendance to get her used to the schedule, Button is in school 8.55 – 3.30 every day, and The Boy is in nursery 9.15 – 3.15 Tuesday and Thursday.  On Wednesday’s he’s in nursery from as soon as we’ve dropped Button at school until 11.45, and for the next couple of weeks he’s going to Ma’s in the afternoon.  That means I have 6 full days before the exam to get this done.  Loads of time.

Even with my expert procrastination skills!

At the moment I’m reasonably sanguine about the whole thing.  I’m telling myself all I need is a pass, although we all know from the ridiculous sobbing that occurred following the massive fail on my last exam that I’m not necessarily believing myself.  We shall see.

However, today, thanks to lots of support from Silvia, for which I will be eternally grateful, I have submitted my final written paper.

So, I’m starting to let myself think ahead a little.

Earlier in the week I was pootling through Reader when I came to Elise Marley’s post on the topic of the Fall 2012 Kids Clothes Week Challenge.

“Hmmmmm”, I thought.

Elsie explains it far better than I do:

The idea is that we all have the urge to sew clothes for our children, but we don’t always give ourselves the time to do it.  If you commit to sitting in front of your sewing machine, or tracing patterns, or cutting fabric, for one hour each day, then at the end of the week you will have some very well dressed kids. And a very proud mama too!

I’m feeling several birds and one large stone with this one:

  • I’ve wanted to join in with one a sewing challenge/sewalong/competiton/swap since I started blogging, but time and circumstances have always been against me.  Bird No. 1.
  • I have a pile of stuff to upcycle for the kids – t-shirts, jeans, cords, leggings. All good autumn/winter ‘cake’ sewing that they both need…Button in particular. That girl has put an inch on in the last couple of weeks, I swear. Birds No. 2 and 3.
  • This will keep me occupied in the week before The Boy has surgery to straighten his divergent squints.  And I need distracting from thinking about that!  Bird No. 4.

So…I’m in!

Are you in too?

