When Dante wrote “Inferno” there was a circle of Hell that he hadn’t imagined and that is the Trafford Centre (or any other shopping centre, for that matter) on a Saturday afternoon.

After schlepping round trying to find jeans for The Husband and shoes for me, unsuccessfully I might add, I’d had enough.  Even the very pretty new maxi dress that I’d found felt like a hard won prize (on sale, dontcha know…and needs must when the empty wardrobe drives!).

So you can imagine my delight when I opened the door at home to a perfect little parcel with this beauty in it:

It’s so flipping gorgeous and it’s with me thanks to the lovely Vicki. I saw this fabric on her blog this week and fell in love.  I’ve been hunting high and low for butterfly fabric since I saw this dress over at Anthro last year:

image courtesy of Anthropologie

Sadly every fabric I’d come across was, how shall we say, more than a little bit tacky and oftentimes downright nasty.

Not so this.

The colours are subtle and painterly.  The fabric is satiny and has some weight to it.  Vicki had 2 yards, which is enough for a dress if I cut economically, and kindly agreed to part company with it.

I’m in love with it. I actually think it’s prettier than the Anthro-inspo. So much so that I’m planning to do the Craftsy Couture Dress course over the winter and thinking that I might just use this fabric to make my couture dress. Interlining will certainly stop it’s slippery loveliness wiggling about too much.

And to cap it all, Vicki sent me a beautiful card:

and some lace and ribbon trim in my favourite shade of blue:

Thank you Vicki…you know my mood is better now than it’s been for the rest of the afternoon! And I’m thrilled with this fabric which is more beautiful than I’d hoped.

So…it appears that my fabric embargo is somewhat broken. I’m blaming the clear out the other week making room for lovely new things.

With that in mind, I suppose it’s time to ‘fess up to my other indiscretions in the sewing shop.

Firstly I succumbed to this for Button:

I’m seeing this as a dress with a black peter pan collar, black tights and boots for autumn.  It’s quite a firm polyester but should withstand tree climbing and the ilk and I’ll line it to avoid an attack of the scratchies.

It was £1.95 a metre.  I couldn’t resist.

I may also have bought a pattern!

Butterick 5600

Oops!

But it was on sale.  And I was supporting my local fabric shop!  Doing my bit for the economy, see!

With summer holidays now upon us and a 3000 word essay to do for my final French project, sewing is going to be low down on the list for a few weeks.  So I am intending to finish the trousers that I’m currently working on and then make a plan.

I’ll let you know how that goes!

