There seemed to be no other appropriate name for this dress than Giverny.

The fabric so reminded me of Monet’s garden that the dress pretty much named itself.

And despite the pattern being a royal pain in the derrière, I really rather like the dress:

I scooped the neckline a little lower on this one than on the original cafe crème version:

The straps are also thinner.  And contrary to what you see in this picture, the neckline is even…it’s just the way I’m standing.

So although you won’t be seeing M5042 on this blog any time soon, I think the Giverny dress is a suitable swansong.

The small print:

Pattern:          McCalls 5042

Fabric:            Liberty 100% cotton – gift from Himmelbjerget…thank you.

Lining:            Polyester habotai from Abakan

Notions:         Thread from stash.  Zip from Abakan.

Total cost:      £3.40 (About the cost of a coffee light frappucino!)

 

