I really should be studying French Relative Pronouns but I needed a coffee break so decided that writing to you guys would be a suitable accompaniament to my caffeine fix.

My lovely niece, who blogs over at MsStitcher, has awarded me the Liebster Blog Award.

I have to insert the disclaimer here that I neither bribed, coerced or bullied her into awarding this to me.

I didn’t realise they were options!

But seriously, who doesn’t like a little acknowledgement every now and again.

So the rules of engagement for this award are:

“This Award is given by bloggers to other new bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers, to help spread the word about their blogs and to help them gain wider recognition. 

Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, favourite or beloved.

The Liebster award comes with four conditions that each recipient must satisfy when accepting:

  1. Choose 5 up-and-coming blogs with less than 200 followers to award the Liebster to.
  2. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
  3. Post the award on your blog. List the bloggers you are giving the award to with links to their site. Leave comments on their blog so they know about the award.
  4. Share 5 random facts about yourself that people don’t know about you.”

And the nominees, in no particular order, are:

  1. Himmelbjerget
  2. The Sewing Princess
  3. Dapper Duds
  4. Pincushion Treats
  5. Just Skirts and Dresses

Go check them out.  They really are talented and inspiring ladies.

So, now to the 5 fab facts about me that you probably don’t know:

  1. I detest chocolate chip cookies.  Chocolate…scrummy.  Biscuits….yummy.  Chocolate coated biscuits…scrummy yummy.  Chocolate chip cookies.  What were you thinking when you came up with that idea? I mean…seriously???
  2. I LOVE salt caramel.  Salt caramel sauce on/in/under/around ice cream.  In/on/under/around cake. In/on/under/around chocolate.  You get the picture.  I’ll do pretty much anything legal for a bag of salt caramel dark chocolates.
  3. It’s really ok to give me a book token for Christmas/birthday/just ‘cos you like me.  Really.  It is.  It saves you time and effort and it gives me a jolly good excuse to slope off for the afternoon and sit in Waterstones and browse through books.  This is an especially good gift if I can get into Manchester because the Waterstones on Deansgate has a wine bar. Books and wine.  Whats not to love!   I swear, if they opened a fabric  or knitting department I would up sticks and move in there.  So you’re not being cheap.  You’re being kind and thoughtful and fueling a passtime that has given me inordiante amounts of joy since I was a small girl and drove Ma crazy with trips to Sweetens bookshop on a Saturday.  And that is still one of my best childhood memories.
  4. I have always wanted to study sewing formally.  I couldn’t when leaving school for family reasons and I have absolutely no regrets about that because the path I have taken has brought me to the life I have today and I wouldn’t swap it for anything.  But in the next year or so (sew?) I’m hoping to be in a position to be able to spend more time at the sewing table and hopefully attend more courses.  And who knows where that will take me?  I’m already gathering inspiration.  I think it will be very challenging but very enjoyable to be able to come back to my first love.
  5. I love flying.  If money was no object I’d have my private pilot’s licence.  I’ve had flying experiences in gliders, helicopters, small planes and I’ve flown on Concorde.  It’s such a rush and although it’s been a while and its not something I can pursue right now…never say never.  (I should point out that I detest flying commercially.  It brings out the absolute worst in people and in me.  I keep commercial flights to a minimum for everyone’s health, safety and sanity.  The Eurostar is far more civilised.)

So there you go.  More about me than you probably are remotely interested in knowing.  But I’ve rather enjoyed reflecting on stuff that sometimes gets pushed to the side in the hurly burly of everyday life.

Now those darned Relative Pronouns won’t be ignored any more!  Poop!

