Over the past year Ma and I have become quilters.  And, as with all new skills, as you progress you learn new things.

What I’ve learned is that if I’m at my sewing machine I want to be making clothes.  Not quilts. However, I’ve also learned that I love hand sewing quilts. Phew.  Quilts are too lovely to abandon completely.

So, much as I’d like to crack on with another North Country quilt, I have another project that’s been waiting for my attention:

Aren’t they just adorable?

Nearly a thousand beautiful little hexies waiting to be sewn.

I have to add at this point that I didn’t cut these out.  Ma did.  Isn’t she amazing?  Thanks Ma!

I made a start last night.

This is definitely a slow project.  Perfect for evenings curled up by the fire with The Husband and a movie.

But I know I’m going to enjoy every single stitch.

PS.  

The Husband was most cross that I was starting another quilt.

Until I put his mind at rest that this one is destined to be a sofa quilt.

The Wedding Quilt is staying firmly on our bed.

He’s happy now!

 

