Yesterday was Button’s 4th birthday.

As she’s now a big girl, the required birthday treat was a trip to Starbucks for smoothies and toasted teacakes.

As soon as Daddy got home from work we headed to the park to make the most of the last of a sunny day and try out the new scooter she received for her birthday.

After an understandably shaky start, and with a charming degree of determination

she cracked it

How did it happen that the quiet and developmentally delayed little girl who came home to us only 3 short years ago is now scooting round the park and preparing to go to school?

It’s shocking how much I love her (and her brother), how proud I am of them and how amazing I think they are.

This little miss is beautiful, yes, but also brave, funny, charming, cheeky, and loveable.  Oh and a million other good things too.

She astonishes me every day with small kindnesses, huge fearlessness, an insatiable curiosity about the world and a limitless capacity for mischief!

I am blessed to be her Mummy.  I’m thankful every day that she (and her brother) found us.

Happy birthday, my beautiful, darling girl.

