Yesterday Ma Stitches, Black Purl and me took a little road trip to the Festival of Quilts at the NEC in Birmingham.  As it’s the first time I’ve been to this show I didn’t really know what to expect, but I have to say it’s the best show of this type I’ve been to!  We had a blast!

The entrance section of the exhibition hall is a display of quilts entered for competition.  I’ve never seen such creativity of design, exquisite use of colour, precision piecing and pristine stitching.  Here are a few highlights.   I’m so inspired.

We then hit the shopping section. All too tempting.

But most excitingly I met two lovely ladies of whose work I’m a very, VERY. BIG. FAN. And I must apologise to both of them for being quite so overwhelmingly excited to meet them.  Firstly I met the lovely Lisa Lam of U-handbag fame.  She very kindly signed me a copy of her bookBlack Purl beat me to the till so it shall be my Christmas gift from her.  I’m very spoiled.

As an aside I recently placed an order with Lisa and can only say the levels of service offered are astonishing.  From clicking the send button on the order to being on my doorstep in 36 hours! Amazing.

I’d only just recovered my equilibrium when I came across the equally lovely Janet ClareShe also kindly signed a copy of her new book

image courtesy of http://janetclare.co.uk/blog/

Both women were so gracious in the face of my boisterous enthusiasm at meeting them.  It’s so lovely when people you’ve admired from afar are as delightful in real life.  Thank you both for making my day.

I tell you, I needed a sit down and a cup of tea after that.  As did Ma and BP, who found me very mortifying amusing.

Then it was time to shop in earnest.  I picked up a bargain quilt ruler and safety handle and a couple of embroidery patterns that will feature here sometime soon. Somehow this fell into my basketas did these amazing fabricsThe top 3 are for an overnight bag for me.

The rooster fabric is for an apron.  Also for me.

The bottom fabric is for a gift.  My lips are sealed.

It would seem I’m going to be busy.  I can’t wait!

 

 

 

