Today we have been working against the clock to get the kitchen finished. As I write it’s 11.15pm and Mr Stitches is putting the finishing touches to the paint on the ceiling and walls in the kitchen. I’ve just finished cutting in the edges and he’s doing high speed rollering.

The original plan for the kitchen was to paint it a pale green to pick out the colour in the lovely Laura Ashley curtain fabric. Unfortunately every option looked like so much pea soup.

Now, I have nothing against any of my walls looking like food. The hallway is Soft Coffee. Food themed walls are not a problem. But pea soup walls just weren’t a look we were happy with.

Creme Anglais, on the other hand, is a completely different story…..

Now, I appreciate that:

1. This picture doesn’t really do the colour justice.

2. It’s not the most exciting picture in the world.

However, there’s only so much you can do with a room with no discerning features except a fridge and a dining table covered in old curtains. And in photos, cream is cream is cream.

So, you’ll just have to trust me that when I walk in the room all I want to do is make cakes and stuff them with cream. Or, Mille Fuille oozing with Creme Anglais. Which, in my humble opinion, is exactly what a kitchen is for.

Thankfully it’s only about 33 hours until the fitters arrive. Phew!

